Meet Our New Board Members!

Emily Torgerson  •   April 29, 2020

As National CooperativeRx is member-owned and member-governed, it’s important our objectives align with those of our members. To ensure that, our Board of Directors is elected by membership. Applicants go through a vetting process performed by a committee of current board representatives, and member voting occurs online leading up to our Annual Meeting. We are pleased to announce the election results from our 2020 Annual Meeting.

New Board Members

Kim Bauer, Vice President of Human Resources at Altra Federal Credit Union in Onalaska, Wisconsin was voted in as a new board member. Ms. Bauer brings an extensive background of benefit experience to our board and we are pleased to have her leadership help guide us. Ms. Bauer will be serving a three-year term.

Craig Roush, Executive Vice President of Rockline Industries located in Sheboygan, Wisconsin was also elected to our board for a three-year term. Mr. Roush oversees finance and accounting at his company, so we are excited to have his financial knowledge and vision on our side.

Officer Elections

Our former board chair, Larry Richardson, announced his retirement at our Annual Meeting, after serving on our board since 2012 and as our chair since 2017. We are so grateful for Larry’s service over the last eight years.

At our April Board of Directors meeting, officer elections were held, and the following people were elected:

Mark O’Connell, who has been on the National CooperativeRx Board since 2015, was elected board chair after serving since 2017 as vice chair. Mr. O’Connell is the Executive Director of Wisconsin Counties Association, located in Madison, Wisconsin and represents WCA Group Health Trust, a jointly self-funded trust with over 50,000 covered lives in Wisconsin.

Don Graham, Executive Director of ISAS Group Benefits Trust (ISAS) in Dallas, Texas, was elected vice chair. ISAS is a benefits trust covering over 4,500 individuals in school districts across Texas and Oklahoma. Mr. Graham was appointed to our board in 2017.

Joy Matthews, Vice President of Total Rewards at QBE in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, was elected for another term as Treasurer & Secretary. Ms. Matthews has been on our board since 2015 and was first elected Treasurer & Secretary in 2017.

The Cooperative is thankful to have such bright individuals devote their time and effort to help us make informed decisions. We look forward to the value Ms. Bauer and Mr. Roush will add to our organization as well as Mr. O’Connell and Mr. Graham in their new titles and Ms. Matthews in her continuing one.

If you are a National CooperativeRx member and interested in serving on our Board of Directors, please let us know. We are always accepting applications to be considered by our nominating committee for future openings.